Retailers of Tobacco Now Have to Employ New Age-Verification Software
By TheNevadaGlobeStaff, January 6, 2023 4:28 am
RENO, Nev. (775 Times, NV Globe) – In order to sell tobacco products in the state of Nevada, tobacco shops must either utilize scanning technology or an automated software-based system to check the age of anybody under 40.
With the passing of a statute requiring consumers of tobacco and associated goods, including electronic vapor products, to be age 21 or older, the change took effect at the beginning of the year.
Investigators will monitor merchants’ compliance with the new regulation on a regular basis to make sure they are doing so.
For a first offense, there will be a $100 punishment for selling to minors, and there will be an extra $100 charge for not using the scanning software.
This online training course has been put in place by the Nevada Tobacco Control Program to aid shops in understanding the new legislation.
Credits: KOLO TV
Copyright 2022 775 Times, NV Globe. All rights reserved.
- Las Vegas Taxicab Companies Seek Approval for “Special Event Surcharge” Amidst New Rate Increases - June 6, 2023
- Massive Wastewater Spill in Clark County Raises Concerns About Environmental Impact - June 6, 2023
- Sun Valley Man Sentenced to Maximum Time for Graphic Threats Towards Washoe County Officials - June 6, 2023