Home>Articles>Ryan Hamilton Announces Candidacy for Clark County Commission

Ryan Hamilton, GOP candidate for Clark County Commission District A

Ryan Hamilton Announces Candidacy for Clark County Commission

Hamilton vows to ‘Make Clark County Clean Again’

By Megan Barth, January 4, 2024 12:25 pm

Las Vegas native Ryan Hamilton announced his candidacy today for Clark County Commission District A in a bid to “make Clark County Clean Again.” Ryan, a registered Republican, enters the race with endorsements from Nevada State Controller Andy Matthews and Senator Carrie Buck.

Ryan most recently worked as a recovery advocate for Vegas Stronger, a downtown Las Vegas-based non-profit. He also served as a policy analyst for the Vegas Chamber and as a political and public affairs consultant.

“Unanimous, single-party control the Democrats have wielded over our County Commission for the last twenty years has not served our community,” said Hamilton. “Violent crime, homelessness, severe drug addiction and housing prices have spiked. Our middle-class residents can’t afford to pay their bills.

Our campaign is about righting our hometown’s course and ensuring everyone who calls Las Vegas home has access to the peace and prosperity they deserve as taxpayers and residents. Naft’s response to these unprecedented crises? Pumping millions of our tax dollars into expensive traffic jams like F1 and Dropicana, propping up a failing animal shelter and refusing to give police the tools they need to confront violent criminals.”

“I am running so that all people who call this valley home have equal access to clean streets, safe neighborhoods and top-tier economic opportunities.”

Hamilton will be challenging Democratic Commissioner Michael Naft in a district that has increased GOP voter registration by two percent. Commissioner Naft was sworn into his first full four-year term on Jan. 4, 2021. He was initially appointed by Gov. Steve Sisolak on Jan. 9, 2019. Naft was formerly the District Director for Congresswoman Dina Titus.

The Clark County Commission is comprised of seven Democrats who recently and unanimously voted  for Democratic Socialist Tick Segerblom to Chair the Commission.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Megan Barth
Spread the news:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *